活動

計劃活動

公眾活動

香港中文大學賽馬會老年學研究所將於2020年10月舉行兩場網上公眾講座,並以「安寧照顧」為主題,讓公眾人士認識何謂「預設照顧計劃」及「預設醫療指示」,及透過《晚晴照顧手冊》學習計劃人生最後一程。

第一場:預設照顧計劃及預設醫療指示

日期:2020年10月16日 (星期五)

時間:下午3:00 至 3:45

第二場:如何使用晚晴照顧手冊

日期:2020年10月23日 (星期五)

時間:下午3:00 至 3:45

講座以Zoom進行,歡迎有興趣人士參加。有關講座詳情,可瀏覽海報。

立即報名 (只限網上登記):https://bit.ly/31vPLKG

對象:公眾人士

報名截止日期:2020年7月21日

請掃二維碼登記

對象:護士

日期:2019年8月29日

地點:雅麗氏何妙齡那打素醫院

本研究所在大埔醫院及雅麗氏何妙齡那打素醫院舉辦一系列全新的講座及工作坊,旨在鞏固及深化護士對預設照顧計劃的了解,讓他們將學習到的知識能有效地實踐於工作上。

對象:院友

日期:2019年8月1日至9月5日

地點:大埔醫院

本研究所與東華三院轄下五間位於大埔及北區之院舍合作舉辦晚晴照顧手冊製作工作坊,為院友介紹治療方式及計劃臨終意願。每位院友均有義工協助完成手冊,令其家屬掌握更多有關院友的意向。

對象:公眾人士

日期:2019年7月12日

地點:香港中文大學

吾好吾理@EOL 2019工作坊已經踏入第二個年頭,參與人數比往年更多。工作坊以講座及小組討論模式進行,讓參加者輕鬆談及生老病死,並模擬計劃自己的臨終意願。

對象:護士

日期:2019年6月28日

地點:賽馬會善寧之家

本研究所早前帶領東華三院轄下位於大埔及北區之院舍的醫護同工參觀賽馬會善寧之家,以提高他們對晚晴照顧的了解。

對象:醫生

日期:2019年5月28日

地點:大埔醫院

本研究所定期為新界東醫院聯網轄下的醫院進行工作坊,以短講及角色扮演來提升醫生在面對患有嚴重疾病病人時的溝通技巧。

對象:醫院職員、訪客及公眾人士

日期:2019年4月26至5月17日

地點:沙田醫院

日期:2019年5月6日至24日

地點:白普理寧養中心

本研究所希望透過展覽來提升公眾對「好死」的認知,並提供在安寧服務資源上的有用資訊。

對象:病人、家屬及義工

日期:2019年3月27日、7月8日及8月23日

地點:白普理寧養中心、沙田慈氏護養院、沙田醫院

本研究所在沙田三間公立醫院舉辦園藝工作坊,旨在讓病人透過栽種植物,學習與人分享,同時學懂欣賞自己、提升自信,令心靈得以慰藉。

日期:2018年8月18日

講座簡報
1. 與認知障礙症患者訂立預設照顧計劃的技巧
郭志銳教授
下載講座簡報

2. 如何展開晚期照顧的話題:「嚴重疾病對話指南」
勞思傑醫生
下載講座簡報

3. 晚晴照顧規劃晚期照顧的靈性關懷
梁智達醫生
黃建成醫生
下載講座簡報

香港中文大學賽馬會老年學研究所於2018年8月18日舉行「晚晴照顧規劃」教育活動,超過470位醫護及專業人士和公眾前往中文大學參加講座,內容包括:

「與認知障礙症患者訂立預設照顧計劃的技巧」

郭志銳教授(香港中文大學內科及藥物治療學系教授)主講

「如何與醫護人員展開晚期照顧的話題和介紹」

勞思傑醫生(醫院管理局新界東醫院聯網寧養及紓緩服務統籌)主講

「晚期照顧的靈性關懷」

梁智達醫生及黃建成醫生(靈實司務道寧養院院長及副院長)聯合主講

其後的展覽和工作坊,90多位醫護及專業人士參與:

「應用嚴重疾病對話指南(SICG)」

徐若萍博士(香港中文大學賽馬會老年學研究所顧問) 主講

「晚期照顧臨床倫理的工作坊」

區結成醫生(香港中文大學生命倫理學中心總監)、 阮君毓醫生(香港中文大學醫學院內科及藥物治療學系臨床講師)、陳丘敏如女士(香港中文大學賽馬會老年學研究所護士長)聯合主講

而兩班「製作晚晴照顧手冊」和三班「從園藝說生死體驗」工作坊則有240位公眾人士參加。大家不妨向身邊的人分享「晚期照顧」資訊,及早規劃自己的晚晴人生!

下載「吾該好死」一書

於2018年5 月8日舉行的醫院管理局研討大會上,本研究所客座教授雷兆輝教授與不同領域的專家帶領一眾參加者探討名為「難以啟齒 – 互動個案討論與應用調解技巧解決晚期照顧中的衝突」的議題。這場深造班深受歡迎,吸引約620名參加者。當中一個有關餵食選項的個案取自本研究所製作的醫學倫理個案集,用於角色扮演及示範如何應用調解技巧解決晚期照顧中的衝突。

生死教育學會創會會長謝健泉醫生於2018年3月18日在瑪嘉烈醫院的「晚期照顧溝通」研討會上擔任講者。超過200位香港西醫工會會員出席是次研討會。本研究所在會場外設置攤位,向參加者派發有關晚期照顧的單張及小冊子。

如何訂立遺囑

陸文慧律師

下載講座簡報

香港中文大學賽馬會老年學研究所於2018年3月24日於香港中文大學康本國際學術園舉行「晚晴照顧規劃」公眾教育活動,反應熱烈 。講座分別由陸文慧律師 (國際公證人)主講「如何訂立遺囑」及李舜華醫生(大埔醫院內科及老人科部門主管)介紹「預設照顧計劃」及「預設醫療指示」。當日有327人參與講座 ,當中超過 300人參與當日五場互動的工作坊(微電影播放及「預設照顧計劃」講座、晚晴照顧手冊製作班,從園藝說生死工作坊以及靜觀畫說生死班)。

香港中文大學賽馬會老年學研究所於2017年8月12日在大埔區香港教師會李興貴中學舉行「安寧服務」公眾教育活動,反應熱烈 。由大埔醫院老人科專科醫生黎敬新醫生、東華三院安辭服務計劃主任黃志安社工及香港中文大學醫學院講師阮君毓醫生主講「晚期照顧知多啲」的講座,有220位人士參與 ,其中200多位人士更參與其後的五場互動工作坊(微電影播放及「預設照顧計劃」講座、晚晴照顧手冊製作班,以及從園藝說生死工作坊)

香港中文大學賽馬會老年學研究所於2017年6月19日在香港中文大學舉辦「安寧服務」公眾教育活動,反應熱烈 。生死教育學會創會會長謝建泉醫生主講「如何與醫護人員展開晚期照顧的話題」的講座,有180位人士參與 ,其中150多位人士更參與其後的三場互動工作坊(微電影播放及「預設照顧計劃」講座、晚晴照顧手冊製作班,以及從園藝說生死工作坊)。

Activities

Project Highlights

Public Event

Target audience: General public

1st session: Advance Care Planning and Advance Directives

Date: 16 October 2020 (Friday)

Time: 3:00pm – 3:45pm

2nd session: How to use the Advance Care Planning Handbook

Date: 23 October 2020 (Friday)

Time: 3:00pm – 3:45pm

The above talks will be conducted in Cantonese via Zoom. Please refer to the poster for details.

Registration (online only): https://bit.ly/31vPLKG

Target audience: General public

Deadline: 21 July 2020

Please scan the QR code to register.

Target audience: Nurses of Alice Ho Miu Ling Nethersole Hospital / Tai Po Hospital

Date: 29 August 2019

Venue: Alice Ho Miu Ling Nethersole Hospital

The Institute starts a new series of seminar and workshops on Advance Care Planning (ACP) to nurses at Alice Ho Miu Ling Nethersole Hospital / Tai Po Hospital. The purpose of the programme is to consolidate and reinforce their concept of ACP and the recent development of ACP in Hospital Authority. Nurses are able to apply reflective skills to facilitate ACP and reflective practice to assess and evaluate the ACP process after the programme.

Target audience: Elderly

Date: 1 August – 5 September 2019

The Institute cooperated with the RCHEs of TWGHs to provide 5 sessions of ACP Handbook Making Workshops for the elderly. Volunteers assisted the participants to record their preferences in treatment decisions and care plans in the ACP handbooks in order to let their family members know more about the wishes of the elderly.

Target audience: General public

Date: 12 July 2019

Venue: The Chinese University of Hong Kong

The End-of-life Care Workshop 2019 were launched last year and is already in its 2nd year. The workshop was running in talks and group discussions, to encourage participants to imagine how they would face, plan and choose if they suffer from serious illnesses.

Target audience: Healthcare staff

Date: 28 June 2019

Venue: Jockey Club Home for Hospice

The Institute held a visit tour to the Jockey Club Home for Hospice especially for the healthcare staff at the RCHEs of TWGHs, for the sake of increasing their awareness of end-of-life care.

Target audience: Doctors

Date: 28 May 2019

Venue: Tai Po Hospital

The Institute conducts regular training workshops to doctors in NTEC, aiming at enhancing their communication skills when starting a conversation with patients with serious illnesses through the talk and role play.

Target audience: Hospital staff, visitors and other members of the public

Date: 26 April to 17 May 2019

Venue: Shatin Hospital

Date: 6 May to 24 May 2019

Venue: Bradbury Hospice

The objective of our exhibition is to arouse public awareness about “good death”, and to provide information about resources that are available for EOL care.

Target audience: Patients, family members and volunteers

Date: 27 March, 8 July and 23 August 2019

Venue: Bradbury Hospice, Cheshire Home Shatin, Shatin Hospital

The Institute held three horticultural workshops in the public hospitals in Shatin. Patients could learn about sharing with others and enhancing self-confidence through plant cultivation.

Date: 18 Aug 2018

Presentation Materials
1. Advance care planning for older people with dementia
Professor Timothy Kwok
Download PowerPoint

2. Serious Illness Conversation Guide: Initiating the conversation
Dr Raymond SK Lo
Download PowerPoint

3. Spiritual Care at the End of Life
Dr Antony Leung and Dr Paul Wong
Download PowerPoint

The ‘End-of-Life Care Planning’ educational event hosted by the CUHK Jockey Club Institute of Ageing on 18th Aug 2018 was hugely successful with over 470 attendees from medical & other professional sectors and the general public. The event took place at CUHK highlighting three informative and inspiring talks entitled:

  • ‘Advance Care Planning for People with Dementia’ by –

Prof. Timothy Kwok (Professor, Department of Medicine & Therapeutics and Jockey Club School of Public Health and Primary Care, Faculty of Medicine, CUHK)

  • ‘How to Initiate the Conversation with Doctors and Serious Illness Conversation Guide’ by –

Dr. Raymond Lo (Clinical Professor (Hon), Department of Medicine and Therapeutics, CUHK, Specialist in Geriatrics, Specialist in Palliative Medicine)

  • ‘Spiritual Care at the End of Life’ by –

Dr. Antony Leung & Dr. Paul Wong (Medical Superintendent & Deputy Medical Superintendent, Haven of Hope Sister Annie Skau Holistic Care Centre)

The second session of event featured poster exhibition and interactive workshops which were thoroughly enjoyed by everyone; over 90 professionals attended workshops on:

  • ‘Application of Serious Illness Conversation Guide (SICG)’ by –

Dr. Maria Chui (Consultant, CUHK Jockey Club Institute of Ageing, Registered Nurse)

  • ‘Clinical Ethics in End-of-Life Care’ by –

Dr. Derrick Au (Director, CUHK Centre for Bioethics, Geriatrician), Dr. Jacqueline Yuen (Clinical Lecturer, Department of Medicine and Therapeutics, CUHK) and Ms. Faye Chan (Nursing Officer, CUHK Jockey Club Institute of Ageing)

On the other hand, 240 people from the public attended the ‘Horticultural Workshop on Life Education’ and ‘Advance Care Planning Handbook Making’ workshops.

To share with your loved ones and start the conversation of advance care planning, download the ‘Good Death’ Booklet and find out more from our website.

Download ‘Good Death’ Booklet

Prof Lui Siu Fai, Adjunct Professor of the Institute led a session on the topic “Difficult Conversation – Interactive Case Discussion and Use of Applied Mediation Skills to Resolve Conflicts in End-of-life Care” together with experts in different fields at the Hospital Authority Convention 2018 on 8 May 2018. The session was well-received and attended by about 620 participants. Among others, a case of feeding options from the ethics casebook developed by the Institute was used for role-play and demonstration of applying mediation skills in resolving conflicts in EOL care.

Dr Vincent Tse, Founding Chairman of the Society for Life and Death Education delivered a talk on “Communication in End-of-Life Care” in Princess Margaret Hospital on 18 March 2018. Over 200 members of Hong Kong Doctors Union attended the talk. Leaflets and booklets on End-of-Life Care were disseminated to participants in the booth.

Presentation Materials

How to make a will?

Ms. Angelina Luk (Solicitor)

Download PowerPoint

The CUHK Jockey Club Institute of Ageing organized a public event on End-of-Life Care education on 24 March 2018 at Yasumoto International Academic Park, The Chinese University of Hong Kong with enthusiastic response. During the talk, Ms. Angelina Luk (Solicitor and Notary Public of Hong Kong) spoke on the topic of “How to make a will?” and Dr. Jenny Lee (Chief of Service, Department of Medicine & Geriatrics in Tai Po Hospital) introduced “What are Advance Care Planning and Advance Directive?” 327 people joined the event and over 300 people participated in the five interactive workshops (Micro Movie and Talk on Advance Care Planning, EOL care planning handbook making, Horticulture with Life and Death education and Zentangle with Life and Death Education) held subsequently.

The CUHK Jockey Club Institute of Ageing organized a public event on End-of-Life Care education on 12 August 2017 at Hong Kong Teachers’ Association Lee Heng Kwei Secondary School with enthusiastic response. Dr. Lai King Son (Department of Medicine & Geriatrics in Tai Po Hospital), Mr. Rex Wong (Project Coordinator of Tung Wah Group of Hospitals) and Dr. Jacqueline Yuen (Clinical Lecturer of Department of Medicine and Therapeutics in CUHK) gave a talk to 220 participants on knowledge of End of Life Care and communication skills with healthcare professionals. Over 200 participants joined the five interactive workshops (Micro Movie and Talk on Advance Care Planning, EOL care planning handbook making, and Horticulture with Life and Death education) held subsequently.

The CUHK Jockey Club Institute of Ageing organized a public event on End-of-Life Care education on 19 June 2017 at CUHK with enthusiastic response. Dr. Vincent Tse, Ex-Chairman of Society for Life and Death Education gave a talk to 180 participants on how patients and family members initiate communication with healthcare professionals. Over 150 participants joined the three interactive workshops (Micro Movie and Talk on Advance Care Planning, EOL care planning handbook making, and Horticulture with Life and Death education) held subsequently.