Institute of Ageing - Decisions about Feeding Tubes in Advanced Dementia Institute of Ageing
Jockey Club End-of-Life Community Care Project


   


Casebook on Ethical Decision-Making in End-of-Life Care
of Older Adults

 


   

 

Decisions about Feeding Tubes in Advanced Dementia

- Dr. Jacqueline Yuen, Clinical Lecturer, Department of Medicine and Therapeutics, CUHK

 

Introduction

In Hong Kong, tube feeding in advanced dementia patients is highly prevalent, particularly amongst those living in residential care homes for the elderly (RCHEs).1,2 However, feeding tubes are most frequently placed during an acute hospitalization where decisions are made with healthcare providers who are unfamiliar with the patients.3 Clinicians commonly rely on the swallowing assessment that a patient is high aspiration risk to justify feeding tube placement. This can be problematic if the decision neglects to consider other factors that are important to the best interests of the patient. Compounding the problem is the fact that many clinicians have inaccurate expectation of benefits from tube feeding that is not supported by evidence.4-7 Given that tube feeding carries significant risks and can negatively impact a patient’s quality of life,8 healthcare providers have an important responsibility to help families make informed decisions that support their loved one’s values and best interests. This article provides a step-by-step approach to guide clinicians on the decision-making process about feeding tube placement in advanced dementia patients.

 

Step 1: Investigate the etiology of the feeding problem

Eating difficulties in dementia patients can be due to many causes. The first step is to thoroughly evaluate whether the underlying cause is reversible. For example, poor appetite can be due to depression, dental problems, untreated pain, dry mouth, constipation, and medication side effects. All of these can be reversed with proper treatment.9 For problems that are manifestations of dementia such as apraxia resulting in inability to use utensils or refusal to open the mouth, conservative strategies such as providing finger food, cueing, altering the environment, and stimulation with different food temperatures, textures, and flavors can be tried.8 In Hong Kong, specialized dementia feeding programs in certain public hospitals have been successful in overcoming eating difficulties in some dementia patients through conservative feeding strategies.

 

Step 2: Determine the patient’s overall prognosis

Healthcare providers and family often don’t recognize that dementia is a terminal illness. Average life expectancy after initial diagnosis is 4 to 9 years.10,11 Difficulty swallowing leading to recurrent aspiration pneumonia is common in patients in the advanced stage and may be a sign that the patient is near the end of life.12 Recognizing the patient’s stage in the disease trajectory is important to determine the prognosis and the likelihood of benefit from tube feeding. Prognostication tools such as the Functional Assessment Staging Tool (FAST) can help clinicians make this determination.13 Consultation with a geriatrics specialist may be helpful in some cases.

 

Step 3: Weigh risks and benefits of tube feeding and alternatives based on evidence

If a reversible cause cannot be identified and conservative strategies have been exhausted, clinicians should then determine how the evidence for tube feeding applies to the patient at hand. Contrary to a common misconception amongst healthcare providers that tube feeding can improve survival, this has not been shown in studies for patients with advanced dementia.14-18 This is consistent with the findings of a local study of elderly RCHE residents with advanced dementia where 1-year mortality was high at 34% and enteral feeding was a risk factor for mortality.2

 

In advanced dementia patients, tube feeding has not been shown to prevent aspiration pneumonia. Aspiration of oral secretions and regurgitated stomach contents can still occur.19,20 Tube feeding may even increase aspiration events since it decreases the lower esophageal sphincter pressure, making gastroesophageal reflux more common.21 Furthermore, tube feeding has not been shown to improve functional and nutritional status in advanced dementia patients.8,14,22 Tube feeding carries other significant risks include bleeding, mucosal erosion, vomiting, diarrhea, and tube blockage and dislodgement requiring repeated re-insertions.8 In Hong Kong, nasogastric tubes are more commonly used than percutaneous endoscopic gastrostomy tubes but are more uncomfortable.3 Physical restraints may be used to prevent patients from pulling out the tube. This not only worsens agitation in a demented patient, but also limits mobility leading to increased rates of pressure sores.15,23

 

An alternative strategy for feeding problems in advanced dementia is careful hand feeding (CHF).24 In CHF, a trained carer feeds the patient orally using feeding techniques and closely observes the patient for choking and pocketing of food. Although CHF cannot prevent aspiration events, it is no worse than tube feeding for the outcomes of aspiration pneumonia, functional status and death.22,25 CHF may be preferable when considering the patient’s quality of life. Unlike tube feeding, CHF allows patients to enjoy the pleasure of eating and socialization during meal times. Given these risks and benefits, the American Geriatrics Society recommends CHF over feeding tubes for eating difficulties in older adults with advanced dementia.26

 

Step 4: Individualize decision through a shared decision-making process with family

Clinicians should involve the family in shared decision-making when considering the option of tube feeding and its alternatives. The decision should prioritize any preferences of the patient if known, such as documented in an advance directive. If the patient’s preferences are not known, then the decision should be based on the patient’s best interests. Besides having a firm grasp of the clinical facts and evidence, clinicians should consider other factors including psychological, cultural, economic and institutional factors that may come into play.27

 

Families often experience distress when seeing a loved one without adequate nutrition, as providing nourishment is commonly seen as a way to nurture and comfort one who is ill.28 It may take time for families to accept the fact that their loved one is near the end of life and that placing a feeding tube is not going to “fix” the problem. Furthermore, families may hold certain cultural or religious beliefs that influence their perspectives. Clinicians should take on a respectful attitude when listening to their concerns, provide support, and try to find common ground when disagreements arise. A common concern raised by families in the local culture is the fear that their loved one will “starve to death.”27 Clinicians should respond empathically by acknowledging the families’ distress in seeing their loved one’s deterioration and reassure them that their loved one is not experiencing hunger at this advanced stage of illness. The patient is dying because the disease process is causing the body to shut down and not because inadequate nutrition is provided. It should be emphasized that CHF can promote comfort for their loved ones when they are near the end of life.3

 

It is also important to understand other team members’ and carers’ concerns in the decision process. Practical issues such as the availability of trained staff or caregivers to dedicate time for CHF in the hospital and when patients return to their place of residence are important to consider. As are potential concerns from healthcare staff about legal liability if a patient subsequently aspirates after being hand fed. Institutions need to have strong policy support for CHF and a culture that promotes end-of-life care in order for this practice to be successfully implemented.27

 

Step 5: Comply with institutional policies on artificial nutrition and hydration (ANH) in terminally ill patients

When the healthcare team and family jointly decide that tube feeding is not in the best interest of a patient, clinicians should follow their institutional policies on withholding tube feeding. In Hong Kong public hospitals, clinicians should refer to the Hospital Authority’s Guidelines on Life-Sustaining Treatment in the Terminally Ill.3 For patients whose death is imminent (death is expected within a few hours or days), it is acceptable to withdraw or withhold ANH without a valid advanced directive. For patients whose death is not imminent, the decision requires consensus with the family and within the healthcare team. The team must include two doctors, one of whom is a specialist in a relevant field (e.g. geriatrics or palliative care). In the case where the patient is unable to swallow and thus CHF cannot be offered as an alternative, the team must also seek advice from the cluster clinical ethics committee. Two exceptions to this requirement are 1) patients who have previously expressed a clear wish to refuse tube feeding verbally to family members or in an advanced directive and 2) patients who are actively and persistently resisting tube feeding, such as repeatedly pulling out their nasogastric tube (HA Guidelines 2015).3

 

Conclusion

The decision about tube feeding for advanced dementia patients should be made in accordance to the ethical principles of patient autonomy and benevolence. Still, it should be a shared decision that ensures accurate communication about the patient’s prognosis, risks and benefits of tube feeding versus alternatives, and respects the family’s and healthcare team’s perspectives. Ideally, patients diagnosed in the early stages of dementia would have a chance to express their preferences about tube feeding and other preferences for future medical care while mentally sound. The advance care planning process can continue with the family after the patient loses capacity whenever signs of disease progression appear. In this manner, families will have more time to come to terms with the expected trajectory of their loved ones’ illness and avoid the need to make decisions during a “crisis” when the patient is hospitalized. Through earlier conversations, families can also make better decisions that honor their loved ones’ wishes and provide them with dignified care at the end of life.

 

References

    1. Luk JK, Chan FH, Pau MM, Yu C. Outreach geriatrics service to private old age homes in Hong Kong West Cluster. J Hong Kong Geriatr Soc 2002;11:5-11.
    2. Luk JK, Chan WK, Ng WC, et al. Mortality and health services utilization among older people with advanced cognitive impairment living in residential care homes. Hong Kong Med J 2013;19:518-24.
    3. HA guidelines on life-sustaining treatment in the terminally ill 2015. Hong Kong: Hospital Authority; 2015.
    4. Shega JW, Hougham GW, Stocking CB, Cox-Hayley D, Sachs GA. Barriers to limiting the practice of feeding tube placement in advanced dementia. J Palliat Med 2003;6:885-93
    5. Carey TS, Hanson LC, Garrett JM et al. Expectations and outcomes of gastric feeding tubes. Am J Med 2006;119:527.
    6. Hanson LC, Garrett JM, Lewis C et al. Physicians’ expectations of benefit from tube feeding. J Palliat Med 2008;11:1130–1134.
    7. Brett AS, Rosenberg JC. The adequacy of informed consent for placement of gastrostomy tubes. Arch Intern Med 2001;161:745–748.
    8. Finucane TE, Christmas C, Travis K. Tube feeding in patients with advanced dementia: a review of the evidence. JAMA 1999;282:1365-70.
    9. Roberson RG and Montagnini M. Geriatric failure to thrive. American Family Physician 2004;70:343-350.
    10. Larson EB, Shadlen MF, Wang L et al. Survival after initial diagnosis of Alzheimer disease. Ann Intern Med 2004;140:501–509.
    11. Boustani M, Peterson CB, Hanson LC et al. Screening for dementia syndrome: A review of the evidence. Ann Intern Med, 2003;138:927–937.
    12. Mitchell SL, Teno JM, Kiely DK et al. The clinical course of advanced dementia. N Eng J Med 2009;361:1529-1538.
    13. The National Hospice Organization. Medical guidelines for determining prognosis in selected non-cancer diseases. Hosp J 1996;11:47-63.
    14. Sampson EL, Candy B, Jones L. Enteral tube feeding for older people with advanced dementia. Cochrane Database Syst Rev 2009:CD007209.
    15. Kuo S, Rhodes RL, Mitchell SL et al. Natural history of feeding-tube use in nursing home residents with advanced dementia. J Am Med Dir Assoc 2009;10:264–270.
    16. Meier DE, Ahronheim JC, Morris J et al. High short-term mortality in hospitalized patients with advanced dementia: A lack of benefit of tube feeding. Arch Intern Med 2001;161:594–599.
    17. Sanders DS, Carter MJ, D’Silva J et al. Survival analysis in percutaneous endoscopic gastrostomy feeding: A worse outcome in patients with dementia. Am J Gastroenterol 2000;95:1472–1475.
    18. Teno JM, Gozalo PL, Mitchell SL et al. Does feeding tube insertion and its timing improve survival? J Am Geriatr Soc 2012;60:1918–1921.
    19. Finucane TE, Bynum JP. Use of tube feeding to prevent aspiration pneumonia. Lancet 1996;348:1421–1424.
    20. Vergis EN, Brennen C, Wagener M, Muder RR. Pneumonia in long-term care: a prospective case-control study of risk factors and impact on survival. Arch Intern Med 2001;161:2378-81.
    21. Gomes GF, Pisani JC, Macedo ED, Campos AC. The nasogastric feeding tube as a risk factor for aspiration and aspiration pneumonia. Curr Opin Clin Nutr Metab Care 2003;6:327-33.
    22. Garrow D, Pride P, Moran W et al. Feeding alternatives in patients with dementia: examining the evidence. Clin Gastroentol Hepatol 2007;5:1372-1378.
    23. Teno JM, Mitchell SL, Kuo SK, et al. Decision-making and outcome of feeding tube insertion: a five-state study. J Am Geriatr Soc 2011;59:881-6.
    24. Hanson LC, Ersek M, Gilliam R et al. Oral feeding options for people with dementia: A systematic review. J Am Geriatr Soc 2011;59:463–472.
    25. Hanson LC. 2013. Tube feeding versus assisted oral feeding for persons with dementia: using evidence to support decision-making. Ann Long Term Care 21(1):36-39.
    26. American Geriatrics Society Ethics Committee and Clinical Practice and Models of Care Committee. American Geriatrics Society feeding tubes in advanced dementia position statement. J Am Geriatr Soc 2014;62:1590-3.
    27. Luk JK, Chan FH, Hui E et al. The feeding paradox in advanced dementia: a local perspective. Hong Kong Med J 2017;23:306-310.
    28. Lopez RP, Amella EJ. Time travel: The lived experience of providing feeding assistance to a family member with dementia. Res Gerontol Nurs 2011;4:127–134.

Institute of Ageing - Decisions about feeding tubes in advanced dementia Institute of Ageing
賽馬會安寧頌


   


年長病人晚期護理服務醫學倫理個案集

 


  

 

為晚期認知障礙症病人提供餵飼管的決定

香港中文大學醫學院內科及藥物治療學系臨床講師阮君毓醫生撰寫

 

簡介

在香港,對晚期認知障礙症病人,尤其是那些居住在安老院(RCHEs)的患病長者而言,採用管道餵飼是極為普遍的做法。1,2 然而,在病人緊急入院的情況下置入餵飼管最為常見,而參與決定的醫護人員並不熟悉病人情況。3 臨床醫生通常憑吞嚥功能評估作決定,若病人存在高誤吸風險,則認為給病人置入餵飼管乃屬恰當。如果在決定過程中忽視了關系到病人最佳利益的其他重要因素,該決定可能會出現問題。很多臨床醫生對管道餵飼的益處抱有錯誤的預期,而這些預期並無理據支持,這無疑令上述問題雪上加霜。4-7 由於管道餵飼隱含高風險,且會降低病人的生活質素,8 因此醫護人員責任重大,需幫助病人家人作出符合病人價值觀和最佳利益的知情決定。本文採用循序漸進的方法,為臨床醫生給晚期認知障礙症病人置入餵飼管的決定過程提供指引。

 

第一步:探討進食困難的病因

導致認知障礙症病人進食困難的原因眾多。第一步是要徹底評估根源病因是否可以逆轉。例如,胃口不佳可能是因為抑鬱、牙齒問題、未獲治療的痛症、口乾、便秘和藥物副作用。這些都能透過適切治療逆轉。9 對於認知障礙症帶來的問題(例如,失用症可能導致病人無法使用餐具或拒絕張口),臨床醫生可以嘗試保守策略,例如提供手抓食物,引導病人,改變環境,以及改變食物的溫度、口感和味道。8香港某些公立醫院的認知障礙症專門膳食計劃已成功運用保守餵飼策略,解決了部分認知障礙症病人的進食問題。

 

第二步:判斷病人的整體預後結果

醫護人員和病人家人通常意識不到認知障礙症為末期疾病。病人首次確診後平均壽命為4至9年。10, 11 晚期認知障礙症病人經常會由吞嚥困難發展至感染復發性吸入性肺炎,這也許代表病人已臨近生命盡頭。12 因此,如要判斷預後結果及管道餵飼有無益處,辨識病人處於病程的哪個階段尤其重要。功能評估量表(Functional Assessment Staging Tool, FAST)等預後工具能夠協助臨床醫生作出判斷。13 對於某些病例,諮詢老人學專家可能有幫助。

 

第三步:基於理據衡量管道餵飼和替代治療的風險和益

如果無法辨識可以逆轉的病因,且保守策略亦無效,臨床醫生才應評估病人是否適合使用管道餵飼。很多醫護人員都誤以為管道餵飼能增加病人的生還率,但是晚期認知障礙症病人的相關研究卻顯示並非如此。14-18 一項本地研究得出一致的結果,居住安老院的晚期認知障礙症病人一年內死亡率高達34%,死亡誘因之一便是腸內餵飼。2

 

尚無證據顯示管道餵飼能令晚期認知障礙症病人避免感染吸入性肺炎。病人依然可能誤吸口腔分泌物和胃部反芻的食物導致吸入性肺炎。19, 20 管道餵飼會降低食道下括約肌壓力,從而引發更加頻繁的胃食管反流現象,因此使用管道餵飼甚至可能導致更多的誤吸性事件。21 此外,未有證據顯示管道餵飼能改善晚期認知障礙症病人的身體機能和營養狀況。8, 14, 22 管道餵飼亦存在其他顯著風險,包括出血、黏膜糜爛、嘔吐、腹瀉、以及因餵飼管堵塞或移位而導致的重複插管。8 在香港,鼻胃管比經皮內鏡胃造廔管使用更廣泛,但遠不及後者舒適。3 為防止病人拔管,可能需要對病人採取身體約束措施。這不但會造成認知障礙症病人情緒激動,還會因限制病人行動而增加其形成壓瘡的機率。15, 23

 

人手小心餵食(careful hand feeding, CHF)是解決晚期認知障礙症病人餵食問題的另一方法。24 受過訓練的照顧人士在採用人手小心餵食時,運用餵食技巧,緊密觀察病人,防止病人發生噎塞現象。雖然人手小心餵食無法避免誤吸情況,但從引發吸入性肺炎、身體機能惡化和死亡的角度而言,採用人手小心餵食的結果並不比管道餵飼差。22, 25 如果考慮病人生活質素,人手小心餵食效果可能較佳。人手小心餵食與管道餵飼不同,病人用餐時可以享受飲食和社交的樂趣。美國老年醫學會基於這些風險和益處,建議醫護人員採用人手小心餵食替代管道喉餵飼來處理晚期認知障礙症長者的進食問題。26

 

第四步:透過家人參與的決定過程作出有針對性的決定

臨床醫生在考慮使用管道餵飼及其替代治療時,應該聯同病人家人共同決定。如果清楚病人意向,例如病人曾訂立預設醫療指示,則病人意向應作為決定的優先選項;如果不清楚病人意向,則應基於病人的最佳利益作出決定。臨床醫生不但需要熟知臨床事實和理據,還應考慮其他可能產生影響的因素,包括心理、文化、經濟和醫療機構因素。27

 

病人家人看到病人營養不足,往往都會擔憂,因為大家普遍認為補充營養是護理和安撫病人的一個途徑。28 讓病人家人接受至親生命將盡、置入餵飼管也無濟於事這個事實可能需要時間。再者,文化觀念或宗教信仰也可能影響家人看法。因此,臨床醫生應該以尊重的態度聆聽家人的意見,為其提供支援,並在意見出現分歧時謀求共識。受本地文化影響,病人家人普遍擔心病人會「餓死」。27 臨床醫生應該抱同理心,表示明白家人看到病人病情惡化感到擔憂,並解釋病人在此階段不會感到饑餓。病人生命將盡,不是因為沒有足夠營養,而是疾病導致身體機能停止。臨床醫生應該強調,如果病人臨近生命盡頭,採用人手小心餵食會令病人更舒適。3

 

在決定過程中,其他團隊成員和照顧人士的想法亦很重要。醫院有否足夠受過訓練的職員或照顧人士進行人手小心餵食,病人何時返回其住所等實際問題都應予以考慮。人手小心餵食後發生誤吸事件的法律責任,亦是醫護人員潛在擔心的問題。因此,醫療機構需要為人手小心餵食提供強而有力的政策支持,推動臨終關懷文化,人手小心餵食方有可能成功施行。27

 

第五步:對末期病人進行人工營養及流體餵養應遵守醫療機構政策

一旦醫療團隊與病人家人認同管道餵飼不符合病人的最佳利益,臨床醫生應該遵照所屬機構的政策,不提供管道餵飼。香港公立醫院的臨床醫生應該參考醫院管理局頒佈的《對維持末期病人生命治療的指引》3。如果病人臨近死亡(預計在數小時或數日內死亡),即使病人未訂定有效的預設醫療指示,也可以撤去或不提供人工營養及流體餵養。如果病人未臨近死亡,撤去或不提供人手小心餵食的決定必須得到病人家人和醫療團隊的一致同意。醫療團隊必須包括兩名醫生,其中一名必須為相關領域的專家(例如老人學或紓緩治療)。如病人無法吞嚥而導致人手小心餵食不適用,團隊必須諮詢聯網醫療倫理委員會,惟以下兩個情況獲豁免:1) 病人曾口頭向家人明確表示或在預設醫療指示中表達了拒絕使用管道餵飼的意願;及2)病人一直主動拒絕使用管道餵飼,比如反複拔掉鼻胃管(醫管局指引2015)。3

 

結語

為晚期認知障礙症病人提供餵飼管的決定,應該遵守病人自主和仁愛的倫理原則。此外,其決定應是病人家人和醫療團隊的共同決定,即確保綜合考量了病人的預後結果、管道餵飼及替代治療的風險和益處。在理想情況下,確診為認知障礙症的病人在初期心智仍然健全,應有機會表達對管道餵飼以及未來治療方法的意向。一旦病人出現病情惡化的跡象,且喪失行為能力,病人家人就可以繼續沿用預設照顧計劃。家人因而有更多時間接受病人的預期病程,而毋須在病人入院時的「危急關頭 」作出決定。此外,家人亦可參考早期討論作出更好的決定,尊重其至親的願望,令其在臨終前得到有尊嚴的照顧。

 

References

    1. Luk JK, Chan FH, Pau MM, Yu C. Outreach geriatrics service to private old age homes in Hong Kong West Cluster. J Hong Kong Geriatr Soc 2002;11:5-11.
    2. Luk JK, Chan WK, Ng WC, et al. Mortality and health services utilization among older people with advanced cognitive impairment living in residential care homes. Hong Kong Med J 2013;19:518-24.
    3. HA guidelines on life-sustaining treatment in the terminally ill 2015. Hong Kong: Hospital Authority; 2015.
    4. Shega JW, Hougham GW, Stocking CB, Cox-Hayley D, Sachs GA. Barriers to limiting the practice of feeding tube placement in advanced dementia. J Palliat Med 2003;6:885-93
    5. Carey TS, Hanson LC, Garrett JM et al. Expectations and outcomes of gastric feeding tubes. Am J Med 2006;119:527.
    6. Hanson LC, Garrett JM, Lewis C et al. Physicians’ expectations of benefit from tube feeding. J Palliat Med 2008;11:1130–1134.
    7. Brett AS, Rosenberg JC. The adequacy of informed consent for placement of gastrostomy tubes. Arch Intern Med 2001;161:745–748.
    8. Finucane TE, Christmas C, Travis K. Tube feeding in patients with advanced dementia: a review of the evidence. JAMA 1999;282:1365-70.
    9. Roberson RG and Montagnini M. Geriatric failure to thrive. American Family Physician 2004;70:343-350.
    10. Larson EB, Shadlen MF, Wang L et al. Survival after initial diagnosis of Alzheimer disease. Ann Intern Med 2004;140:501–509.
    11. Boustani M, Peterson CB, Hanson LC et al. Screening for dementia syndrome: A review of the evidence. Ann Intern Med, 2003;138:927–937.
    12. Mitchell SL, Teno JM, Kiely DK et al. The clinical course of advanced dementia. N Eng J Med 2009;361:1529-1538.
    13. The National Hospice Organization. Medical guidelines for determining prognosis in selected non-cancer diseases. Hosp J 1996;11:47-63.
    14. Sampson EL, Candy B, Jones L. Enteral tube feeding for older people with advanced dementia. Cochrane Database Syst Rev 2009:CD007209.
    15. Kuo S, Rhodes RL, Mitchell SL et al. Natural history of feeding-tube use in nursing home residents with advanced dementia. J Am Med Dir Assoc 2009;10:264–270.
    16. Meier DE, Ahronheim JC, Morris J et al. High short-term mortality in hospitalized patients with advanced dementia: A lack of benefit of tube feeding. Arch Intern Med 2001;161:594–599.
    17. Sanders DS, Carter MJ, D’Silva J et al. Survival analysis in percutaneous endoscopic gastrostomy feeding: A worse outcome in patients with dementia. Am J Gastroenterol 2000;95:1472–1475.
    18. Teno JM, Gozalo PL, Mitchell SL et al. Does feeding tube insertion and its timing improve survival? J Am Geriatr Soc 2012;60:1918–1921.
    19. Finucane TE, Bynum JP. Use of tube feeding to prevent aspiration pneumonia. Lancet 1996;348:1421–1424.
    20. Vergis EN, Brennen C, Wagener M, Muder RR. Pneumonia in long-term care: a prospective case-control study of risk factors and impact on survival. Arch Intern Med 2001;161:2378-81.
    21. Gomes GF, Pisani JC, Macedo ED, Campos AC. The nasogastric feeding tube as a risk factor for aspiration and aspiration pneumonia. Curr Opin Clin Nutr Metab Care 2003;6:327-33.
    22. Garrow D, Pride P, Moran W et al. Feeding alternatives in patients with dementia: examining the evidence. Clin Gastroentol Hepatol 2007;5:1372-1378.
    23. Teno JM, Mitchell SL, Kuo SK, et al. Decision-making and outcome of feeding tube insertion: a five-state study. J Am Geriatr Soc 2011;59:881-6.
    24. Hanson LC, Ersek M, Gilliam R et al. Oral feeding options for people with dementia: A systematic review. J Am Geriatr Soc 2011;59:463–472.
    25. Hanson LC. 2013. Tube feeding versus assisted oral feeding for persons with dementia: using evidence to support decision-making. Ann Long Term Care 21(1):36-39.
    26. American Geriatrics Society Ethics Committee and Clinical Practice and Models of Care Committee. American Geriatrics Society feeding tubes in advanced dementia position statement. J Am Geriatr Soc 2014;62:1590-3.
    27. Luk JK, Chan FH, Hui E et al. The feeding paradox in advanced dementia: a local perspective. Hong Kong Med J 2017;23:306-310.
    28. Lopez RP, Amella EJ. Time travel: The lived experience of providing feeding assistance to a family member with dementia. Res Gerontol Nurs 2011;4:127–134.