Institute of Ageing - Case: Mr Chau Institute of Ageing
Jockey Club End-of-Life Community Care Project



   

 

Disagreements over timing for advance care planning

Topic: Disagreements over timing for advance care planning
Case commentary and voice by: Dr. Derrick Au Kit Sing
Introduction: This video aims to discuss the clinical ethics case as a scenario of moral distress in which the healthcare professionals might be confronted with disagreements over timing for advance care planning.
00:11 Case description
05:58 Case commentary
06:20 How does the nurse Ms. Leung know that her suggestion is the right thing for the patient?
06:40 Was the doctor-in-charge Dr. Kam wrong?
07:22 Was the patient’s concern just about the BiPAP mask?
08:05 On moral distress
08:46 What can the nurse do?
09:21 Case commentary wrap up


Mr. Chau is a 75-year-old man who lives at home with his wife and his son's family. He was a former smoker and suffered from chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) for many years. Over the past year, he has become more easily short of breath with routine activities like walking around his home, dressing himself or taking a shower. He has also experienced more frequent exacerbations that led to several hospitalizations. In the last six months, he's already been admitted three times. Each time, he was put on a BiPAP machine for several days before his condition improved.


Last week, Mr. Chau was admitted again for another exacerbation of his COPD. After a week of treatment in the respiratory ward, he was finally able to come off the BiPAP mask. However, when the food tray was delivered to Mr. Chau, he pushed the food away. Ms. Leung, a registered nurse in the ward, saw this and recognized Mr. Chau from previous admissions. She approached Mr. Chau to ask why he didn't want the food.


Mr. Chau answered, "What's the point of eating? Just to keep coming back like this and be put on that mask? I'm as good as dead!"


Concerned, Ms. Leung asked Mr. Chau, "Is something wrong? I thought you'd be glad to come off the mask today."


Mr. Chau said, "Well, it's just temporary. I know how bad things are with my lungs. It's just a matter of time. I just don't want to go through the same ordeal over and over again, in and out of the hospital. Then one day, game over. If I'm going to die anyway, I don't want to be strapped to that mask up the final moment! You know how awful it is to be on the mask? You can't eat. You can't talk. It just blows air into your face!"


"It sounds like you're really concerned about being put on that mask again," Ms. Leung said.


"Yeah. I don't ever want to wear it again! Just let me go without making me suffer through all that! I've had enough!"


"Have you told your family how you feel?" asked Ms. Leung.


"I tried. But my wife and son...they won't listen. They don't want me to talk so negatively. They said that I should just listen to the doctor. The doctor barely even has time to talk to me!"


Feeling that Mr. Chau is probably correct about the advanced stage of his lung disease and that he's reasonable to prefer to be comfortable at this point, Ms. Leung decides to discuss Mr. Chau's concerns with Dr. Kam, the doctor-in-charge. She suggested that Dr. Kam should hold a family conference to explain his poor prognosis with his wife and son and to sign an advance directive for Mr. Chau.


However, Dr. Kam disagreed. "It's too premature to sign any advance directives and discuss end-of-life care issues. Mr. Chau's condition can still be relieved by the current treatments. He's ready for discharge soon!"
Ms. Leung felt powerless and does not know how she can help Mr. Chau
.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Themes: advance care planning, advacnce directives, moral distress, life-sustaining treatment, conscientious objection

- Dr. Derrick Au Kit Sing, Director, CUHK Centre for Bioethics

We may discuss this case as a scenario of moral distress in which the nurse Ms. Leung felt powerless for being unable to do what she considered the right thing for the patient, as the doctor-in-charge held a strong opposite view on what was right.


Ms Leung's suggestion was to hold a family conference to explain the poor prognosis to the family, and to sign an advance directive for the patient.


Before considering her moral distress, it is useful to take a step back to ask a few questions:


How does Ms. Leung know that her suggestion is the right thing for the patient?

One point is in Ms Leung's favour – Mr. Chau has tried but failed to get his family to talk about this issue. We can therefore be quite certain that a dialogue is what he wants. Note that the patient's readiness is an important consideration in deciding on the timing for advance care planning.


Was the doctor-in-charge Dr. Kam wrong?

Dr. Kam seemed to have bundled 'discussing end-of-life care issues' with 'signing advance directives'. In discussing end-of-life care issues and allowing the patient to express his/her wishes and values, the advance care planning process may or may not end up with signing an advance directive. In a fast-paced hospital operation, squeezing in the signing of advances directives into the short pre-discharge window may indeed be undesirable, but it is a reasonable time to initiate a dialogue with the patient and the family. Key decisions on withholding life-sustaining treatment such as BiPAP do not have to be forced into one session, but encouraging family members to listen to the patient may be achievable.


Note that in this case the nurse Ms Leung apparently also fell into the same trap of bundling end-of-life care planning with the immediate decision to sign an advance directive. Had she put forth the suggestion to initiate a dialogue rather than immediately holding a family conference to sign an advance directive, she might have had a better chance of getting her suggestion supported.


Was it just about the BiPAP mask?

Mr. Chau was particularly vivid in articulating the burden of BiPAP, but he also questioned the point of eating, and expressed in general that he did not wish to go through the same ordeal over and over again, in and out of the hospital. It would be valuable to explore more about Mr. Chau's perspectives on medical care. Rather than narrowing focusing on his dislike of BiPAP, the clinical team can find out what medical care Mr. Chau considers too burdensome or intolerable and what he hopes the care to focus on, to develop a plan that honours his wishes appropriately.


Some assessment of his mood may also be called for. Depressive state is not uncommon in patients with advanced organ failure, if significant it may cloud the patient's judgement and perceptions on care plans. Without adequate background exploration and assessment, going directly into a family conference to make an advance directive may be undesirable.


On moral distress

As separately reviewed by Prof. Helen Chan, "moral distress" was first defined by Jameton (1984) as the negative experience among health professionals when they know the right thing to do but cannot pursue that course of action due to institutional constraint. Much of the literature on this subject focus on moral distress in nursing. The definition of moral distress by Jameton may be disputed. A professional in moral distress is not always right. Moral intuition ('knowing the right thing to do') should go hand in hand with moral reflections and openness to ethical reasoning. Is the 'institutional constraint' real or perceived? If a nurse feels powerless, is it due to a culture of medical dominance (nurses expected to follow doctor's orders), or is it due to the individual nurse's lack of confidence to effectively articulate her case? Nonetheless, it should be fair to say that in some healthcare institutions, the ethical climate is clearly unfavourable for a 'speak-up' culture, and unsupportive of staff in moral distress.


What can the nurse do?

Ms Leung may feel less distressed if she can explore the patient's wish further. The patient did not ask for a family conference to immediately sort out end-of-life issues and advance directives. What does he really want? As a first step, she may try to ascertain whether Mr. Chau does indeed wish healthcare professionals to mediate a dialogue with his family members concerning his future care. She may then relate such a wish to the wife and son, and at the same time provide them with initial information on the value of the advance care planning process. Mr. Chau is likely a long-term follow-up case. Once such initial exploration has taken place, further dialogue may be possible.


This may be a pragmatic approach to overcome a deadlock. One may argue that taking the pragmatic approach does not always work, and there may well be other scenarios where institutional constraint is undisputable and even unfair. In some circumstances, a healthcare professional may need to bring up the issue of concern to hospital management, or raise conscientious objection to unethical practice.


In this particular case, it would appear that there is room for further assessment of the patient, positive communication within the team, and dialogue with the patient's family.

Institute of Ageing - 個案:周先生 Institute of Ageing
賽馬會安寧頌


   

 

對應何時展開預設照顧計劃的分歧

題目:對應何時展開預設照顧計劃的分歧
個案評論撰寫及聲音演繹:區結成醫生
簡介:本片旨在通過臨床倫理案例的分享,探討醫護人員在面對道德困擾時,可以如何分析及打破困局。
00:11 臨床倫理案例分享
05:58 個案評論分析
06:20 怎麼知道護士的建議對病人是否最適切?
06:40 主診醫生甘醫生是否錯了?
07:22 病人的問題只是關乎「雙正壓呼吸機」面罩?
08:05 關於道德困擾
08:46 個案中的護士可以怎麼辦?
09:21 個案評論演繹

 

周先生75歲,跟妻子和兒子一家同住。他曾有吸煙習慣並患有慢性阻塞性肺病多年。過去一年,他即使只做一些在家中走動、穿衣服、洗澡等日常活動,也很容易會氣促。由於病情漸趨惡化,周先生需要多次住院。他在過去六個月內已經三度入院,而每次情況好轉前都有數天需要駁上雙正壓呼吸機。


上星期,周先生再次因慢性阻塞性肺病惡化入院。他在胸肺內科病房接受了一星期的治療後,終於能脫下雙正壓呼吸機的面罩。但是,當食物送到周先生跟前時,他一手推開了。病房的註冊護士梁姑娘看見此事,並因周先生過往曾入院數次而認出他,於是向周先生了解他為何不要食物。


周先生回答:「吃東西還有甚麼意義呢?只是為了像這樣不停回來,然後戴上那面罩嗎?根本生不如死!」


梁姑娘聽罷顯得憂心,於是問周先生:「是否有甚麼不對勁?我以為你會因今天不需要戴面罩而開心。」


周先生說:「唉,這開心只是短暫的。我知道自己的肺有多糟糕,一切只是時間的問題。我只是不想重複這種折磨,不停進出醫院。然後有一天,生命就這樣完了。既然我都要死了,我真的不想到最後一刻仍被那面罩束縛著!你知道戴著那面罩有多難受嗎?你不能吃東西,也不能說話。那面罩只會把氣吹到你臉上!」


梁姑娘說:「聽起來你真的很擔心要再次戴上那面罩。」


「對啊,我再也不想戴上那面罩了!放過我吧!不要再讓我忍受這一切了!我受夠了!」


梁姑娘問:「你有告訴家人你的想法嗎?」


「我試過了,但我的妻子和兒子⋯⋯他們不會聽的。他們不想我說得這麼消極。他們說我應該聽醫生的話。但醫生根本沒有時間和我談呀!」


梁姑娘認同周先生覺得自己已經進入晚期肺病的想法,而周先生希望舒服一點也很合理,所以梁姑娘決定跟主診醫生甘醫生討論周先生的憂慮。她建議甘醫生可以舉行一次家庭會議,跟周先生的妻子和兒子解釋周先生病情轉壞的情況,並為周先生簽署預設醫療指示。


可是,甘醫生不同意。「現在簽署任何預設醫療指示或是討論晚期照顧的議題,都為時過早。目前的治療仍可紓緩周先生的症狀,況且他很快就可以出院了!」

梁姑娘聽了感到無能為力,不知道自己可以怎樣幫助周先生。
.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

主題: 預設照顧計劃、預設醫療指示、道德困擾、維持生命治療、良知反對

香港中文大學生命倫理學中心總監區結成醫生撰寫

我們可以把這個案視為道德困擾的情況來討論。在此情況中,主診醫生對梁姑娘認為是對的事有截然相反的看法,令她無法對病人進行她認為是對的事,因而感到無能為力。


梁姑娘建議舉行一次家庭會議,跟病人家屬解釋他病情轉壞的情況,並為病人簽署預設醫療指示。


在考慮她的道德困擾前,我們可以退一步提出以下幾條問題:


梁姑娘怎麼知道她的建議對病人是最適切的?
有一點是對梁姑娘有利的——周先生曾嘗試跟他的家人討論這問題,但並不成功。我們因此肯定他希望有一個對話。請注意,在決定何時展開預設照顧計劃時,病人有沒有心理準備是一個要考慮的重點。


主診醫生甘醫生是否錯了?
甘醫生似乎將「討論晚期照顧的議題」和「簽署預設醫療指示」綑綁在一起。在討論晚期照顧的議題及讓病人表達自己的意願時,預設照顧計劃的過程到最後不一定導致簽署預設醫療指示。在忙碌的醫院,由入院到出院的時間通常很短,勉強在這段時間內簽署預設醫療指示並不合適,但卻有足夠時間跟病人和其家人展開對話。毋須勉強在一次對話內即時決定是否接受如雙正壓呼吸機的維持生命治療,而是藉這些機會鼓勵家人多聆聽病人的意向。


請注意,在這個案中,梁姑娘明顯也墮入了相同的陷阱,以為展開晚期照顧計劃等同要馬上決定簽署預設醫療指示。如果她當日是建議展開對話,而非立即舉行家庭會議去簽署預設醫療指示,她的建議可能較有機會得到甘醫生的支持。


這是否只是關乎雙正壓呼吸機面罩的問題?
周先生特別強調雙正壓呼吸機造成的負累,但他也質疑進食有甚麼意義,並表達他不想一次又一次地受折磨,以及不想不停進出醫院。進一步探討周先生對醫療護理的看法會更有幫助。臨床醫療團隊不應只集中考慮周先生對雙正壓呼吸機的厭惡,亦可以了解哪些醫護程序令他覺得難以接受,哪些他覺得更合適的護理,以制定符合他意願的醫療計劃。


此外,醫療團隊亦可以考慮對他的情緒進行評估。晚期器官衰竭的病人患上抑鬱並不罕見,情況嚴重者可能會干擾病人的判斷能力和對護理計劃的看法。在沒有充足的背景調查和評估下,就直接透過家庭會議制定預設醫療指示,似乎並不恰當。


關於道德困擾
如陳裕麗教授所言,詹姆頓(1984)首次定義「道德困擾」為「當醫療專業人員知道甚麼是正確的做法,卻因機構上的限制而無法採取行動」。大部分關於這個主題的文獻都著重討論護士所受到的道德困擾。詹姆頓對道德困擾的定義或具爭議性。醫療專業人員受到道德困擾並不表示他的想法一定是對的。擁有道德直覺(「知道甚麼是正確的做法」)的同時,亦應進行道德反思,並對倫理思辨持開放態度。「機構限制」是事實嗎?還是只是主觀的看法?如果護士感到無能為力,是因為醫生主導的文化(護士應遵從醫生的命令),還是因為個別護士沒有自信能如實闡述其個案?儘管如此,一些醫療機構中討論倫理議題的環境確實不利於「發聲」的文化,對受到道德困擾的員工亦缺乏支援。


個案中的護士可以怎麼辦?
如果梁姑娘可以進一步了解病人的意願,可能會減少她所受的困擾。病人沒有要求舉行家庭會議來即時解決晚期照顧和預設醫療指示的問題。他到底想要甚麼?她可以首先嘗試弄清楚周先生是否真的希望醫護人員和他的家人展開對話,討論他日後的護理服務。然後,她便能向周先生的妻子和兒子講述他的意願,並同時向他們初步介紹有關展開預設照顧計劃的重要性。周先生很可能會是需要長期跟進的個案。進行了初步探討後,便有可能展開進一步的對話。


這是打破困局的務實方法。可能會有人認為這種務實方法不一定總是奏效,也有可能在一些個案中,制度是無可置疑地過度限制,更亦可能並不公平。在某些情況下,醫護人員可能需要向醫院的管理層提出關注,或者對不合醫德的工作方式依良知提出反對。


在這個案中,對於為病人作進一步的評估、促進團隊之間的正面溝通、以及和病人的家人展開對話方面,似乎仍有改善的空間。