Institute of Ageing - Case: Mrs. Tsang Institute of Ageing
Jockey Club End-of-Life Community Care Project

Filial piety in end of life care decisions


   

 

 

 

Mrs. Tsang is a 90-year-old woman with a history of myocardial infarction, atrial fibrillation, and congestive heart failure. Since her husband passed away eight years ago, she has been living in a residential care home for the elderly. She looks forward to regular visits from her daughter, Ga Yan, who always brings her favorite paper-wrapped cakes from her old neighborhood bakery. However, she misses most her elder son, Ga Kit, who lives in Canada with his family and returns to Hong Kong about once a year.


In the past year, Mrs. Tsang has required repeated hospitalizations every few months for exacerbations of her heart failure. Each time when the symptoms come on, she experiences swelling in her legs and could barely catch her breath when she takes a few steps or lies in bed. In the hospital, she is treated with IV diuretics that remove fluid from her body and her breathing improves. After each hospitalization, however, she returns to the aged home more debilitated. After her last discharge, she can barely stand on her feet before she feels that her legs give out beneath her.


Ivy, the nurse from the community geriatric assessment team, makes a visit with Mrs. Tsang at the aged home two weeks after her last hospitalization. Noting Mrs. Tsang’s progressive decline and weight loss over the past several months, she decides to arrange a meeting with the Mrs. Tsang, who is of sound mind, and Ga Yan to discuss advance care planning.


At the meeting, Ivy expressed her concern about Mrs. Tsang’s declining health and asked what Mrs. Tsang hopes for in her care going forward. Mrs. Tsang replied, “I know that my health is not good. I just wish that I don't need to keep going back to the hospital. The staff is always too busy to be able to pay you much attention.” Ga Yan nods her head in agreement. “Mother’s been through a lot lately with so many hospitalizations. She really dislikes being in the hospital.”


Ivy then explains the end-of-life care (EOL) service that is provided by her hospital, which can help support Mrs. Tsang by avoiding hospitalizations if possible and focusing on her comfort.


“We will assess you regularly for any symptoms and try to treat you in the aged home if possible. If a hospitalization is needed, we will try to arrange a direct admission to the geriatric ward in the hospital and avoid a trip to the A&E department. The only requirement for patients enrolled in this programme is that they would need to agree to not for resuscitation. In other words, in the event the heart stops, the patients would forgo any attempts by the medical team at restarting the heart.”


Mrs. Tsang was alarmed. “I would still want the doctors to try to restart my heart if it stops!”


Hearing her mother’s words, Ga Yan sighs. “This programme sounds great in many respects, except that my mother’s not ready to give up yet. I’m afraid my mother will not be a good fit for your programme.”


Ivy made some notes in her records, and did not bring up the EOL service again.


Some months later, Mrs. Tsang was found to be unarousable by the carer in the home and was immediately brought by ambulance to the hospital. In the A&E, the doctors found her oxygen level and blood pressure to be low. Concerned that she is in respiratory failure and in shock, they immediately placed Mrs. Tsang on a noninvasive ventilation mask. Her oxygen level came back up after this treatment and when her condition appears more stabilized, she was admitted to the medical ward. Then the nurse on the ward calls Ga Yan and told her to come to the hospital immediately.


When Ga Yan arrived on the ward, she was greeted by Dr. Leung, the medical officer in charge of Mrs. Tsang’s care. He explains, “I’m worried that your mother’s condition may become unstable at any time. Given her serious heart condition and overall poor health, I think that in the event that her heart were to stop, I do not think that doing CPR would be in her best interest.”


Ga Yan replied, “A nurse had discussed this with my mother a few months ago at the home and my mother still wanted the doctors to try to restart her heart if it stops! Those were her exact words. I’m not sure what to do, doctor! Let me first speak with my brother!”


Dr. Leung nods. “Sure, please go ahead. You can inform the nurse after you’ve made your decision and you can ask to speak with me at any time. It’s best that a decision can be made today, as things can change quickly.”


Ga Yan immediately phones Ga Kit in Canada, which is now close to 3am. Fortunately, the phone was answered. Ga Yan explained the situation and asked her brother what he thought.


“It’s no question,” said Ga Kit. “Even though I wasn’t part of the conversation that you and mother had with the nurse, still it was mother herself who said she wanted to be resuscitated. How can we as her children go against her wish! Besides, if there is a way to allow mother to live a longer life, it would go against filial piety (不孝) to not support that. In the morning, I’m going to take the first flight out to Hong Kong. Watch over mother until I get there!”


Hearing her brother’s words, Ga Yan feels more conflicted. Her brother had not seen their mother in months. He doesn’t know how much their mother has suffered. She also doesn’t know whether her mother really understands what CPR would mean for someone in her condition at the time the nurse at the aged home brought it up. She certainly could not have imagined how sick she would be when this decision would need to be acted upon.


On the other hand, she wishes that her mother would be comfortable and have dignity when she is at the end of her life and is inclined to go along with Dr. Leung’s recommendation for not attempting CPR. However, she does not want to go against her brother’s viewpoint, and what her mother had stated in the past.

  

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Themes: filial piety, advance care planning, advance directives, substituted judgment, best interest, family conflict, life-sustaining treatment

- Dr. Derrick Au Kit Sing, Director, CUHK Centre for Bioethics

The daughter of Mrs. Tsang, Ga Yan, is in a difficult situation. Mrs. Tsang is unconscious, the case doctor advises that, given her serious heart condition and overall poor health, doing CPR would not be in her best interest. She is asked to inform the doctor of a decision within the day, as her mother’s condition is not stable. In previous encounter with the nurse from community geriatric assessment team, her mother apparently expressed a wish to live on even if resuscitation was required, but Ga Yan is not sure if in that brief dialogue her mother really understood what CPR would mean. She herself wishes that her mother could go through the end of life phase in comfort and with dignity. Her brother in Canada considers that it would go against filial piety (不孝) to not support their mother’s apparent wish to live on.

This case illustrates that difficult end of life decisions such as CPR is often not merely about a ‘right’ decision based on one or two ‘correct’ ethical principles. When a patient becomes mentally incapacitated near end of life, what is in the patient’s best interest (more accurately ‘best interests’ – it is not a single dimensional concept of benefit) is a mix of medical prognosis, judgement of benefit and burden of further active – possibly aggressive – interventions, and patient’s prior expressed wish and known values.

A DNACPR decision may be made easier if there is a clearly written valid and applicable advance directive. In this case, Mrs. Tsang’s prior expressed preference (to live on) reflects her values at the time of the conversation, but it does not amount to a clear advance directive. In any case, an advance directive states what medical interventions a patient would not wish to receive when his/her condition has come to a certain future state (e.g. irreversible coma, terminally ill). Even if a patient had expressed a prior wish not to withhold CPR under any circumstances, the medical team is not obliged to always follow the patient's instruction. The judgment of the medical team would also factor in the decision.

When the case doctor advised Ga Yan that, in his judgment, CPR would not be in Mrs. Tsang’s best interest, it is unclear whether he has taken into account Mrs. Tsang's prior expressed wish. He can try to explore with the daughter about the context for her mother's wish - e.g. did her mother have a good understanding about CPR and the expected outcomes for someone in her condition? Perhaps her mother's statement is an expression of her worry that the doctors would "give up" on her rather than to be interpreted as an advance instruction on her CPR decision.

If this is the case, then it may problematic to request Ga Yan to come back with a ‘decision’ on CPR or DNACPR. This creates a substantial psychological burden for her, implying that it would be her sole responsibility to come up with this ‘decision’ in the fact of conflicting considerations. If CPR is considered to be not indicated, it is preferable for the medical team to state that more explicitly, to clarify from the outset and such decision is a shared decision between the medical team and the family, making reference to patient’s prior wish and values.

The Law in Hong Kong does not adopt the U.S. legal framework for surrogate decision-making by family members. As such, what the family members are asked to do, in most circumstances, is a substituted judgment – imagining what the patient would have wanted if she were still able to express her views in this particular scenario. Substituted judgment is a meaningful concept that many lay persons (possibly also healthcare professionals) would find difficult in practice.

Noting that the son of Mrs. Tsang is flying back immediately from Canada, if the patient’s condition allows, it is desirable to hold a family conference after he is back, to better inform him of the Mrs. Tsang’s present medical condition and prognosis.

What if Mrs. Tsang deteriorates quickly with cardiac arrest and there is no time for shared decision making? We do not have sufficient information on the medical prognosis, including whether Mrs. Tsang is likely able to come off the ventilator once resuscitated. From the given information, it is not clear that Mrs. Tsang’s condition is medically futile (in the strict sense of physiological futility), CPR may still be justified. In such case, suitable counselling and support should be provided to Ga Yan, to relieve her of the sense of guilt from filial piety.

Finally, it may be noted that the original message given to Mrs. Tsang and Ga Yan concerning the ‘requirement’ for enrolling in the direct admission programme to the geriatric ward is somewhat problematic. Whereas it may be a fact that the programme is designed to serve patients who indicated a wish not to receive CPR in the advance care planning process, it is quite another matter to ‘require’ a patient to agree to DNACPR just because he/she prefers direct admission to the geriatric ward as part of her goal of maximizing comfort. Good end of life care programmes should not use their services as ‘incentives’ to influence the patient’s DNACPR decision. I am sure this was not the intention of the clinical team, but careful communication is needed here.

Institute of Ageing - 個案:曾太太 Institute of Ageing
賽馬會安寧頌

晚晴照顧決定之「孝」


   

 

 

 

曾太太90歲,曾患心肌梗塞、心房顫動、以及充血性心臟衰竭。自從她丈夫8年前過世後,她一直住在安老院。曾太太盼著女兒嘉欣定期來看她,女兒每次都會從老街坊的烘焙店買來她最愛吃的紙包蛋糕。不過曾太太最想念的還是大兒子嘉傑。嘉傑跟家人住在加拿大,每年大概回香港一次。

去年,曾太太因心臟衰竭病情加重,令她每隔幾個月都要住院。每次發病時,她的腿都會腫脹,而且稍微走幾步路或躺在床上都會令她喘不過氣。住院期間,曾太太接受靜脈利尿治療,排出體液後,她的呼吸才會有所改善。然而,每次返回安老院時,她都愈加衰弱。最後一次出院時,她已感覺到雙腿不聽使喚,幾乎無法站立。

曾太太最後一次出院的兩個星期後,社區老人評估小組的護士Ivy探望了她。Ivy注意到曾太太過去幾個月裏每況愈下、日漸消瘦的情況,於是決定趁曾太太意識清醒時,與她和嘉欣安排會面,討論預設照顧計劃。

會面時,Ivy解釋了對於曾太太健康衰退的擔憂,並詢問曾太太關於後續護理的期望。曾太太回答說:「我知道我情況不好,我只希望不需要經常進出醫院。醫院的員工總是很忙,沒太多時間理會你。」嘉欣點頭表示同意,「媽媽最近經歷了太多次住院,受苦不少。她真的很不喜歡住醫院。」

Ivy隨即為她們講解了她所在醫院的晚期護理服務(EOL),可以幫助曾太太盡可能避免住院,並以她的舒適為重。

「我們會定期評估你的健康狀況是否有任何異常,並盡可能讓你在安老院接受治療。如果需要住院,我們會盡量安排你直接入住老人科病房,避免前往急症室。參加該服務計劃的病人只需同意不進行心肺復甦。換句話說,一旦出現心跳停頓,病人將會放棄讓醫療團隊採取恢復心跳的任何嘗試。」

曾太太一聽就緊張了,「如果我心跳停了,我還是希望醫生想辦法救我!」

聽媽媽這樣說,嘉欣歎了口氣,「這個計劃各方面都不錯,只是我媽媽還未準備好放棄。恐怕我媽媽的情況不大適合你們的計劃。」

Ivy在商談記錄上做了些備註,沒有再次提起晚期護理服務。

數月後,安老院的護工發現曾太太昏迷,立刻叫救護車將她送至醫院。急症室的醫生發現其血氧含量和血壓過低。考慮到她出現呼吸衰竭並處於休克狀態,醫生立即給她戴上無創通氣面罩。經過治療,曾太太的血氧水平有所回升。病情趨穩後,她被轉送到內科病房。隨後病房的護士致電嘉欣讓她立即前往醫院。

嘉欣到達病房時,接待她的是曾太太的主診醫生梁醫生。他解釋說,「我擔心你媽媽的情況可能隨時變得不穩定。考慮到她有嚴重的心臟病,整體的健康情況比較差,如果出現心臟停頓,我不認為心肺復甦術(CPR)符合她的最佳利益。」

嘉欣回答說,「幾個月前有位護士在安老院跟我媽媽討論過這個問題。一旦心跳停止,我媽媽還是希望醫生能幫她恢復心跳!這是她的原話。我不知該怎麼辦,醫生!讓我先跟哥哥商量一下。」

梁醫生點頭說,「好的,快去吧。決定好了就告訴護士,也可以隨時找我。最好今天就做決定,因為情況可能會迅速變化。」

嘉欣立刻打電話給嘉傑,當時加拿大時間已近凌晨3點。幸好,有人接電話。嘉欣說明了情況,並詢問哥哥的想法。

「不用糾結,」他說,「雖然你和媽媽跟護士討論的時候我不在場,但媽媽自己說希望做復甦,我們做兒女的怎麼能違背她的意願!再說了,如果有辦法讓媽媽活得久一點而我們不支持,那就是不孝。我坐明天到香港的第一班飛機。等我到了再說,你照顧好媽媽。」

哥哥的話讓嘉欣覺得很矛盾。她哥哥好幾個月沒見過媽媽,不知道媽媽受了多少苦。此外,她也不確定媽媽是否真正明白護士在安老院中提到的心肺復甦術對於她這種病情的人究竟意味著什麼。她更是無法想像媽媽會病到多麼嚴重才需要這樣做。

另一方面,她希望媽媽在臨終時能感到舒適和有尊嚴,因此傾向於同意梁醫生提出的不採用心肺復甦術的建議。但她又不想違背哥哥的主張和媽媽先前表達過的意願。

----------------------------------------------------------------
主題: 預設照顧計劃預設醫療指示代作決定最佳利益家庭矛盾維持生命治療

香港中文大學生命倫理學中心總監區結成醫生撰寫

曾太太的女兒嘉欣陷入兩難處境。曾太太已失去意識,個案中的醫生建議,考慮到其嚴重的心臟病以及較差的整體健康狀況,進行心肺復甦術(CPR)不符合其最佳利益。因媽媽的情況不穩定,嘉欣須在當天之內將決定告知醫生。在之前與社區老人評估小組的護士會面時,她媽媽顯然已經表達了自己希望通過必要的復甦治療繼續生存下去的意願,但嘉欣不確定在那段簡短的對話中,媽媽是否真正明白心肺復甦術意味著什麼。她本人希望媽媽能舒適及有尊嚴地度過生命的最後階段。而她身在加拿大的哥哥則認為不支持媽媽繼續生存的意願是不孝。

該個案說明,晚晴照顧的艱難決定,例如是否進行心肺復甦術,通常不僅是基於一兩個「合理」的倫理原則而作出的「正確」決定。當處於生命末期的病人精神上無能力作出決定時,決定病人的最佳利益(更準確地說是「各方面的最佳利益」- 而並非單一維度上的利益概念)須綜合考慮各方面的因素,包括臨床預後、對於採取更積極甚或可能激進的醫療介入的利弊權衡、以及病人事先表達過的意願和已知的價值觀。

如果有明確有效且適用的書面文件作為預設醫療指示,則不作心肺復甦術(DNACPR)的決定可能更簡單。在該個案中,曾太太先前表達的意願(繼續活下去)反映了那段對話時她的價值觀,但並不構成明確的預設醫療指示。無論如何,預設醫療指示應會明確指出病人在未來的特定狀態(例如大腦死亡、末期疾病)下不希望接受的醫療介入。即使病人事先表達過在任何情況下都不放棄心肺復甦術的意願,醫護小組也沒有義務一直遵循病人的指示。醫護小組的判斷也應起到影響決定的作用。

當該個案的醫生向曾太太的女兒嘉欣提出建議,即他認為心肺復甦術並非符合曾太太的最佳利益時,我們不清楚他是否考慮過曾太太先前表達的意願。但他可以嘗試跟曾太太的女兒共同商討其母親意願的背景-例如,其母親是否完全理解心肺復甦術,以及像她這種病情的預後?也許她媽媽的說法只是表達了對於醫生會「放棄」她的擔憂,而非作出有心肺復甦術決定的事先指示。

如果是這種情況,則要求嘉欣「決定」是要進行心肺復甦術還是不作心肺復甦術的做法就有問題。這樣做會給她造成很大的心理負擔,因為這就意味著在如此兩難的處境下,她要獨自承擔「決定」的責任。如果認為病人並沒有就心肺復甦術作出事先指示,則醫護小組最好提出更明確的觀點,並從一開始就說明該決定是由醫護小組與病人家人根據病人先前的意願和價值觀達成共識之後,而共同作出的決定。

香港的法律並沒有沿用美國的家庭成員代作醫療護理決定的法律框架。因此,多數情況下,家庭成員要做的是代作決定—即是想像在這種特定情境下,假如病人有能力表達其觀點時會想要如何處理。代作決定的概念可以很複雜,很多非專業人士(可能也包括醫護人員)在實踐過程中會發現不少的困難。

我們注意到,曾太太的兒子立即從加拿大乘坐飛機回來。如果病人情況允許,最好在他回來後進行家庭會議,以便詳細告知他曾太太當前的病情以及預後。

如果曾太太的情況迅速惡化、出現心臟停頓,並沒有時間作出共同決定,又該如何?我們沒有足夠的資料去判斷曾太太的臨床預後,包括進行心肺復甦後,她能否撤去呼吸機。從已知的資訊來看,我們並不清楚曾太太的情況是否屬於無效用治療(狹義上的生理上無效用的治療),進行心肺復甦術可能仍然是合理的。如果是這樣,則應給予嘉欣適當的輔導和支援,以減輕她對於不孝的負罪感。

最後,可能要注意的是,最初提供給曾太太和嘉欣關於直接入住老人科病房計劃所需「條件」的資訊是可以斟酌。該計劃可能確實是專為那些在訂立預設照顧計劃時,就已經表明不接受心肺復甦術的病人而設計的,但如果病人只是出於盡量舒緩不適的目的而選擇直接入住老人科病房,而他/她卻因此被「要求」同意不作心肺復甦術,就是另外一個問題了。良好的晚晴照顧計劃不應將其服務作為「誘因」,從而影響病人作出不作心肺復甦術的決定。我確信這不是醫護小組的初衷,只是有需要與病人/病人家人作進一步溝通,謀求共識。